The National Prizes of Research, which are granted in nine categories or scientific areas, were established in 2001. The aim of these prizes is the recognition of the merits of the Spanish scientific or researchers who realize a great labor emphasized in scientific fields of international relevancy, and that contribute to the advance of the science, to the best knowledge of the man and its living together, to the transfer of technology and to the progress of the Humanity. The Prize Julio Rey Pastor belongs to the areas of mathematics and technologies of the information and the communications.